Agricultural and Horticultural Organizations

Completing 2020 Annual Return

What's New

The deadline to submit your Annual Return is December 6, 2021.

Agricultural Associations - Annual Return Information

Completing the Annual Return

Societies are now able to submit a completed Annual Return using a new and improved submission process through TPON (Transfer Payment Ontario). Please ensure your society is registered on TPON.

Societies will receive an email outlining the new and improved submission process with a detailed guide.

Annual General Meetings

Societies are required to hold an annual general meeting. Please ensure supporting documents are ready to submit with your return - Financial statements, Review Certificate (signed prior to AGM) and a list of incoming Executives and Directors.

If your society cannot hold their annual meeting within the 15 months of their last meeting due to unusual and extenuating circumstances, societies can send an email to the OMAFRA Director at AHOA.admin@ontario.ca to request an extension with a proposed new date (month/year) and provide reason for the AGM delay. The ministry will approve extensions and notify societies via email. Click here to view the Agricultural and Horticultural Organizations Act.

Agricultural Societies - Annual Return Information

Horticultural Societies - Annual Return Information

Agricultural Associations - Annual Return Information

Agricultural associations must submit an annual return within 90 days of their annual general meeting to the ministry.

Agricultural associations should receive an email notification from OMAFRA one month before their scheduled next annual general meeting date. A link to upload the annual return will be provided. Alternatively, associations can email their Annual Return package to ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca.

The annual return must include the following requirements to maintain your association's legal status as a non-profit organization and remain in good standing:

  1. copy of the audited financial statement
  2. statement of the number of current members
  3. list of the directors and officers of the organization including address, telephone and email
  4. copy of the annual report submitted at the annual meeting

Acceptable financial reports:

A "Notice to Reader" report from accountants is NOT acceptable.

How to meet the guidelines if your organization has a Notice to Reader prepared by their accountant

If your organization receives a Notice to Reader, an additional review of the financial records will be required. This can take the form of a signed Financial Review Certificate. This means that after the financial reports are prepared, the organization will appoint two people to review the financial records of the organization. These two individuals should: a) not be on the board, b) not be related to the Treasurer, and c) not be related to each other. There are no other requirements, although we would encourage you to secure people who are familiar with financial matters. The reviewers can be volunteers, either associated or not with your organization. This process will increase the level of assurance that your organization has with the financial statements.

Sociétés agricoles et horticoles

Remplir le rapport annuel de 2020

Quoi de neuf?

La date limite pour soumettre votre déclaration annuelle est le 6 décembre 2021.

Associations agricoles - Renseignements concernant les déclarations annuelles

Préparation de la déclaration annuelle

Les sociétés peuvent maintenant utiliser le nouveau processus de demande amélioré de PTO (Paiements de transfert Ontario) pour soumettre leur déclaration annuelle. Veuillez vérifier si votre société est inscrite à PTO.

Les sociétés recevront un courriel décrivant le processus de soumission nouveau et amélioré avec un guide détaillé.

Assemblée générale annuelle

Les sociétés sont tenues de tenir une assemblée générale annuelle (AGA). Assurez-vous d'avoir en main les pièces justificatives que vous enverrez avec votre déclaration : états financiers, certificat de vérification (signé avant l'AGA) et liste des nouveaux dirigeants et administrateurs.

Si votre société ne peut pas tenir sa réunion annuelle dans les 15 mois suivant sa dernière réunion en raison de circonstances inhabituelles et atténuantes, les sociétés peuvent envoyer un courriel au directeur du MAAARO à AHOA.admin@ontario.ca pour demander une prolongation avec une nouvelle date proposée ( mois / année) et indiquez la raison du retard de l'AGA. Le ministère approuvera les extensions et avisera les sociétés par courriel. Cliquez ici pour lire la loi sur les organisation agricoles et horticoles.

Sociétés agricoles - Informations sur le rapport annuel

Sociétés horticoles - Informations sur le rapport annuel

Associations agricoles - Renseignements concernant les déclarations annuelles

Les associations agricoles doivent soumettre une déclaration annuelle au Ministère dans les 90 jours suivant leur assemblée générale annuelle.

Les associations agricoles devraient recevoir un avis par courriel du MAAARO un mois avant la date prévue de leur prochaine assemblée générale annuelle. Ce courriel contient un lien permettant de télécharger la déclaration annuelle. Si elles préfèrent, les associations peuvent envoyer leur dossier de déclaration annuelle par courriel à ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca.

Pour maintenir le statut légal de votre association en tant qu'organisme sans but lucratif et rester en règle, vous devez accompagner votre déclaration annuelle des renseignements ou documents suivants :

  1. Copie de l'état financier vérifié
  2. Déclaration du nombre de membres actuels
  3. Liste des administrateurs et des dirigeants de l'organisme, y compris leurs adresse civique, numéro de téléphone et adresse courriel
  4. Copie du rapport annuel présenté à l'assemblée générale annuelle

Rapports financiers acceptables

Un rapport « Avis au lecteur » produit par un cabinet comptable n'est PAS acceptable.

Comment respecter les directives si votre organisme dispose d'un avis au lecteur préparé par un comptable

Si votre organisme reçoit un avis au lecteur, un examen supplémentaire des dossiers financiers sera nécessaire. Cela peut prendre la forme d'un Certificat d'examen financier. Cela signifie qu'après la préparation des rapports financiers, l'organisme désignera deux personnes pour examiner les dossiers financiers de l'organisme. Ces deux examinateurs ne doivent pas : a) être des membres du conseil d'administration, b) être liés au trésorier ou c) avoir un lien entre elles. Ce sont les seules exigences que vous devez satisfaire, mais nous vous encourageons à utiliser les services de personnes familières avec les questions financières. Les examinateurs peuvent être des bénévoles, ayant un lien ou non avec votre organisme. Ce processus augmentera le niveau d'assurance de votre organisme par rapport aux états financiers.