Minister's Statement Regarding OPVG Changes

"Ontario's processing vegetable sector, operating under our government's support for regulated marketing, is an economic driver for the province of Ontario. The tomato industry accounts for approximately half of the $89 million in gross farm receipts generated by the sector annually. The health and vitality of this sector is critical as it supports the livelihoods of thousands of Ontarians and the communities they live in.

I have been closely monitoring the 2017 contract negotiations between Ontario's tomato growers and processors and was recently informed by growers, processors and the Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission (OFPMC) that negotiations have reached an impasse, jeopardizing this year's crop season. Risking this year's tomato crop and the thousands of jobs that support it, is something I am not prepared to do.

Therefore, I have taken action today to appoint Elmer Buchanan, a farmer and former Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs, as the Trustee of the Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers (OPVG) Board. In this role, Mr. Buchanan temporarily assumes the powers of the board to negotiate 2017 contracts, until elections for a OPVG Board are held prior to December 31, 2017. This mandate will ensure that Mr. Buchanan assists in the negotiations of 2017 contracts, benefitting both parties involved and saving the tomato season. This decision also honours the directive I issued last August to develop a regulatory framework to achieve reform for the 2018 growing season and beyond.

In making this difficult decision, our government has ensured we maintain our regulated marketing system – one that produces high quality food for the consumers of Ontario, contributes positively to our economy, provide good jobs for Ontarians and ultimately, is a decision that supports farmers, processors and consumers for the well-being of the sector and the province of Ontario."

- Jeff Leal, Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Firstname SPACE Lastname SPACE HYPHEN SPACE Title/Affiliation
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph)
Use a SEMI COLON to separate multiple entries:
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph; Jane Doe - Crop Specialist/OMAFRA)
Creation Date: dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy
Last Reviewed: dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy

Déclaration du ministre au sujet des changements concernant l'organisme OPVG

« Le secteur ontarien des légumes de transformation, un secteur exploité sous un marché réglementé qu'appuie notre gouvernement, est un des piliers économiques de l'Ontario. L'industrie de la tomate représente environ la moitié des revenus agricoles bruts de 89 millions de dollars que produit annuellement le secteur des légumes de transformation. Ce secteur procure un gagne-pain à des milliers d'Ontariens et d'Ontariennes, et soutient leurs collectivités. Sa santé et sa vitalité sont donc d'une importance fondamentale.

« J'ai suivi de près les négociations contractuelles de 2017 entre les producteurs et les transformateurs de tomates de l'Ontario. J'ai été informé récemment par les producteurs, les transformateurs et la Commission de commercialisation des produits agricoles de l'Ontario (CCPAO) que les négociations se sont soldées par une impasse, ce qui compromet la saison des cultures de cette année. Mettre en danger la récolte de tomates de cette année et les milliers d'emplois qui en dépendent est une chose que je ne suis pas prêt à faire.

« Par conséquent, j'ai pris aujourd'hui la mesure de nommer M. Elmer Buchanan, un agriculteur et ancien ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales, fiduciaire du conseil d'administration de l'Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers (OPVG). En ce rôle, M. Buchanan assume temporairement les pouvoirs du conseil pour négocier les contrats de 2017. Il jouera ce rôle jusqu'à l'élection d'un conseil d'administration, qui aura lieu avant le 31 décembre 2017. Par la mission dont il est investi, M. Buchanan pourra apporter son aide dans les négociations des contrats de 2017, pour le bien des deux parties et pour sauvegarder la saison des tomates de 2017. Cette décision concorde aussi avec la directive que j'ai donnée en août 2016 pour qu'un cadre réglementaire soit établi en vue d'engager une réforme pour la saison des cultures de 2018 et des années suivantes.

« En prenant cette difficile décision, notre gouvernement veille à ce que nous maintenions notre marché réglementé – un marché qui produit des produits alimentaires de qualité supérieure pour les consommateurs ontariens, apporte une contribution positive à notre économie et crée de bons emplois pour les Ontariens et Ontariennes. En fin de compte, c'est une décision qui soutient les agriculteurs, les transformateurs et les consommateurs, pour le bien du secteur et le bien de l'Ontario. »

–  Jeff Leal, ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Firstname SPACE Lastname SPACE HYPHEN SPACE Title/Affiliation
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph)
Use a SEMI COLON to separate multiple entries:
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph; Jane Doe - Crop Specialist/OMAFRA)
Date de création : dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy
Dernière révision : dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy